MCAC 2017 Football Preview: North Dakota State College of Science

MCAC 2017 Football Preview: North Dakota State College of Science

North Dakota State College of Science 

Wahpeton, ND

Head Coach / Years at NDSCS / Overall Record: 

Merle Johnson / Entering 6th Year / 41-20 Overall

Assistant Coaches: 

Micheal (Eric) Francis Bey, Jasen Klimek, Alex Johnson, Trevor Kellor, Xavier Dean 

2016 MCAC Overall Record | Division Record | Place of Finish
9-2 overall | 5-1 Division | Western Division Champion. Receiving Votes in 2017 National Poll
Key Returning Players:

Malik Gaillard, QB, Osseo MN

Andre Brown, OL, Annapolis MD

Devin Brogden, DL, West Fargo ND

Kordell Russell, LB, Osseo MN

Desmond Reeves, DB, Olympia Fields, IL

Coach Johnson on the Wildcat Offense in 2017: 
"The Wildcat offense will see many new faces this season. Our offensive line will be a key to the success of the offense, and Andre Brown will be leading the O-Line. Malik Gaillard will compete with transfer Rod Robinson for the starting QB position. In the skill positions there will be a host of new players looking to make their mark."
Coach Johnson on the Wildcat Defense in 2017
"Our defense will once again be an aggressive and hard hitting group lead by our large and athletic D-Line. We expect a lot of leadership from Devin Brogden, the sole returning starter. We also look for James Ubaike to make a significant impact on the D line. In the middle, we will look for returning LB Kordell Russell to provide leadership. In our secondary we will have Desmond Reeves returning to anchor the back end of the defense." 
Coach Johnson on the Wildcat Special Teams in 2017:
"Special Teams will once again have a talented group of returners to light up the scoreboards. Desmond Reeves looks to make his mark in the return game. The key for our group will be to find our kicker and punter in fall camp with some stiff competition in the punting duties." 
Moving On: 2016 Wildcats competing at a 4-year college this fall:

Cameron Rampersaud, Alabama State

Devin Mcallister, North Alabama

Tim O'Donnell, New Mexico State

Kez Flomo, University of Kansas

Komotay Koffie, New Mexico State

Randolph Zleh, New Mexico Highland

Charles Walker, Fairmont State

Davarus Clark, Concordia University- St. Paul

Nicholas White, New Mexico Highland

Emmanuel Enrich, Southwest Minnesota State University 

Demetrius Johnson, Fairmont State

Deveal Mcclendon, Bendict College

Shawn Brown, Bendict College

Lajuan Ransom, NorthEastern State

Lucas Uransel, Morgan State 

For Local Coverage of NDSCS Wildcat Football, Be Sure to Visit: 

NDSCS Athletics

Wahpeton Daily News Sports

KBMW Radio 

To Follow Minnesota College Athletic Conference 2017 Football scores, stats, standings and more, please go to:

Up-to-date info at Twitter & Facebook.  Join our Social Media Feeds Today!